Book Reviews

I’ve read a handful of books over the last few months and so I thought I’d share! There are few things better in this world than a book you don’t want to put down, in my humble opinion. The author I have become obsessed with is Kate Morton. If you haven’t read anything by her (and you enjoy historical fiction/secrets/whydunnits) do yourself a favor and snag one of her many novels! Here we go.

lake-house

(1) The Lake House by Kate Morton. I’m a little intimidated to write a synopsis because honestly there are SO MANY THINGS that happen in this book. It is a very complex plot with a lot of moving pieces and characters, but I promise you won’t be sorry. It hops back and forth between a rich Cornish family in  Pre/post WWI and a troubled female cop in present day England. If you like family secrets, whimsical old manors, and satisfying endings you’ll love the Lake House. (I also read The House at Riverton which I HIGHLY recommend, and The Distant Hours. Distant Hours was a little slow moving for me at parts but still highly enjoyable and clever.)

heidi.jpg

(2) Heidi by Johanna Spyri. Okay. I don’t know how I’ve gone my entire life without reading this book. This book skyrocketed into one of the top five best novels I’ve ever read in my entire life. The innocence and pure joy of Heidi is contagious and captivating. I’m not one to cry while reading novels, but let me tell you that Heidi had me leaking like a sink throughout most of the book. Not only is the language and imagery absolutely beautiful (there really is no other way to describe it), but the story is so moving and touching and a billion other good things. I can feel my heart swelling in my chest just thinking about it. I read it to my daughter every night before bed and I would read long after she had fallen asleep.

colors-of-goodbye

(3) Colors of Goodbye by September Vaudrey. September lost her middle child, Katie, in a car accident when Katie was 19 years old. This memoir is a very detailed, honest and raw recollection of her grieving process from the minute September got the phone call to where she stands today. It’s an absolutely powerful, beautiful and heavy read. I shared that my cousin passed away in a car accident last summer and my aunt said that this book was a huge help to her. I read it in the hopes of knowing ways I could reach out or be there for my aunt as she walks this road of grief, missing her oldest son. If you or someone you know has lost a child this is a powerful story of finding joy even in the darkest of days.

writers

(5) Writer’s Digest February Issue. Okay, so this isn’t a book but if you are currently seeking publication as a writer this issue is gold! It’s all about organizational tools, and the steps you can take to make the most of your writing time. I must have underlined 90% of what I read in this month’s issue. I also thoroughly enjoyed the interview with Liane Moriarty. My mom has been trying to get me to read her books and after reading this interview, I’m sold!

So this is just a short and sweet review of some of the books I’ve read over the months. I’d love to hear your recommendations!

2 thoughts on “Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

