Dreams……?

Dreams are _____. Dreaming is _____. Dream ____.

Dreams are such interesting things. Some consume you while others sit patiently on the back shelves of your mind until you feel like pulling them back down again. A dream can be the driving force behind every decision you make or a dream can give you a few minutes of blissful fantasy and then it’s gone.

Dreamers dream. Period. Even when life hurls storms their way they don’t stop dreaming. They may not dream as relentlessly or carefree as they once did, but dream on, they do. I lose count of the stories I hear about people overcoming unspeakable hardships in pursuit of their dreams. On the flip side, I’ve seen people waste their lives away pursuing dreams in their mind but taking no action. Instead they wallow in bitterness and self-pity, wondering how their life has become what it has. As my trusty old friend Albus Dumbledore says, “it does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”

“But there are dreams that cannot be..” -I Dreamed A Dream, Les Miserables

“I can see so far in my dreams, I’ll follow my dreams, until they come true.”-Dream to Dream, Fievel Goes West

My husband and I had a heart to heart today about a decision that needed to be made. One of us let a dream go while the other got to embrace a dream they’ve had for a very long time. Marriage is funny like that. It’s a constant dance of compromise and making room for ideas other than your own.

I wasn’t sure how the conversation we had today was going to go, but it needed to happen. Room needs to be made for dreams and sometimes priorities need to change. I think dreams, new and old, deserve to be pursued; just be sure to bring your head with you. I think exciting things are ahead and, come what may, I’ll keep dreaming.

P.S. Below is my absolute favorite piece about dreams. It’s from the classic Disney movie Cinderella:

“A dream is a wish your heart makes when you’re fast asleep. In dreams you will lose your heartache. Whatever you wish for, you keep. Have faith in your dreams and someday your rainbow will come smiling through. No matter how your heart is grieving, if you keep on believing, the dream that you wish will come true.”

6 thoughts on “Dreams……?

  1. This post has so much truth in it! Dreams can be a powerful catalyst for action, or a momentary escape that leads to nothing. Dreams are such an important part of life, but they can also remind us of what we haven’t accomplished yet.

    I hope you and your hubby are doing well, and keeping your dreams alive–whether those dreams are on the back shelf or on center stage! 🙂

    • Hi Jackie! That’s so sweet of you to post. Life has been absolutely crazy the last few months and I felt that I needed to take a break from blogging. I needed to reevaluate my time management and things that needed some margin. I’m getting back into the swing of things today! I have been writing and slowly picking things back up! I hope you are doing well and again I appreciate the post!

Leave a Reply

