Why I Write.

A million reasons came screaming to the front of my mind when I read this question but it’s hard to accurately put it into words. Ironic? Ever since I was little I’ve had a tingling in my fingers that can only be satisfied by holding a pen or zipping across a keyboard. I’m always writing lists, or baby names (long story), or just whatever spills out of my head. Truth be told I still prefer the old fashioned pen and paper. I feel like my thoughts are completely honest when I scribble things down.

So, why do I write? I write because it makes the noise clanging around in my head become still. I communicate so much more clearly through written word. If I’m given time to prepare to speak I can with satisfying results. However, verbally explaining my thoughts on the spot is difficult for me. I usually walk away feeling a little flustered or stupid or think of a billion things that I didn’t mention that I should have. That’s probably why I’ve always excelled in the online courses I took in college. You get a substantial amount of time to think on your responses and type out your answers.

I write because I feel like I have all these stories and thoughts swirling around in my spirit and it excites me to bring them to life. Isn’t that why anyone writes? I get excited when a character comes to mind and I can’t wait to see where their story goes.  One thing I didn’t anticipate about the writer’s life is the way characters really do develop their own story. In Stephen King’s book “On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft.” He says “tell the truth.” You can’t hope to make it as a writer if you hold back or try to control the characters. A great writer allows the characters to tell the story.

For example, I’m writing a short story for a competition that’s coming up and I had an idea of where I’d like the main character to go. Alas, as I wrote the story turned in a direction that I didn’t anticipate and my heart is having a hard time with what could be ahead. I wanted a happy ending, and I am confident he’ll still get one, but there is an obstacle he must go through first it’s going to be painful. I feel sorry for him, but that’s where the story has taken me. Clear as mud?

So.Writing. Writing is a release. It’s passion. It’s hard work. It’s a delight. It’s a billion things and it makes me feel whole. No matter where it takes me in life, it will always be a part of my life.

2 thoughts on “Why I Write.

    • Ha. You and me both! I feel like organization is an ongoing battle. I don’t think I’m disciplined enough to constantly keep everything in a state of order!

Leave a Reply

