Platform.

Author Platform. Oh me oh my. I’ve been doing a lot of research the last couple of days and it would seem that social media is a definite part of the dreaded “author platform”. I’ve kept this blog on and off for the last few years purely as a creative outlet. Alas, the writing wizarding giants such as Writer’s Digest and the like highly recommend linking into the social media world to boost platforms.

It’s a pretty burdensome weight to place on one’s shoulder’s. The internet is such a vast space. There are so many people wanting to be noticed for so many different reasons. Where does one even begin? I turn to you, bloggers, for any tips or advice you can throw this rookie’s way. I’ve been writing a long time but using social media to oomph my audience is totally new ground for me. If I’m honest it’s even a little uncomfortable. I’m a wallflower by nature and it isn’t easy for me to run to the center of the room and say “Look at me! Look what I can do!”. But, this wallflower has plans and if they include stepping out of my comfort zone I’m willing to do it.

More than anything I’d really like to make some connections with fellow writers. I crave discussion and sometimes writing can be a lonely thing. I’d love for feedback! Heck, I’d love some introductions! Who are you? What brings you to the blogging world? What do you hope to get out of it?

With hope,

Ali

 

2 thoughts on “Platform.

  1. I feel exactly the same way! I know it’s recommended to promote on Twitter, but it can be such a strange thing to make a public announcement about personal content (at least in my case). I also think it makes me more sad when nobody acknowledges my posts on social media than if I had never shared outside the blogging platform at all.

    • Hi Jackie! I couldn’t agree with you more. It is really discouraging to write posts and no one seems to care or even know it exists! I just ventured into Twitter today and it was a bit overwhelming. I will follow you 😉

Leave a Reply

