Audacious.

I’m reading the book “Audacious” by Beth Moore. It’s been phenomenal so far. I really appreciate the way she can communicate complex theology simply. And she’s funny to boot. God speaks to me most frequently through books. He has a way of putting the right message into my hands at the right time. I love that He does that. He knows I love to read. He knows I love words and the impact that they have on my heart. It’s just another tiny way He shows me that He knows me, ya know?

Anywho, the chapter I read today was about need vs. want. It was so fascinating. As humans we definitely do what we want to do more than what we need to do until we are desperate. Then, and usually only then, we want to do what we need to do! In fact, we spend so much time stressing about what we need to instead of simply doing it right then and there. Before I get anymore confusing, I’ll share a little blurb from the chapter:

“I hear what you’re saying you need to do and that’s good. That’s important. That’s conviction. That’s godly. But this is what I’d really like to hear you respond to: What is it you want? What drives your heart? What exactly has you at My heels? What are you seeking? What are you really looking for? Because this is where you’ll find your affections…”

I don’t want to ramble on any further because I think these questions are important. It’s an important discussion to have with our hearts and ultimately with Jesus. After thinking on these questions I made a list of my answers.

What I (really really really) want:

-To know Christ

-To know His word

-To be a godly wife and mother

-To be kind

-To be dependable

-To completely trust God with finances and my daughter Scout

-To have godly wisdom and insight

-To be able to teach with confidence

-To write books

This is what I want. This is what drives my heart. This is what has me back at His heels. This is what I’m seeking. This is what I’m really looking for.

-Ali

2 thoughts on “Audacious.

  1. I love Beth Moore. I’ve enjoyed her books and bible studies. I actually got to see her speak at a Women of Faith conference. I love how God shows up when you need to hear him. Books are that way for me a lot of times. I’m reading one thousand gifts by Ann Voskamp right now and am planning to read Come with Me by Suzanne Eller next.

    • You’ll have to tell me how Ann Voskamp’s book is! I tried reading it a couple of years ago, but I had a heard time enjoying her style of writing. But I’d be willing to give it another try! Our church did Beth’s study called “Secrets” last fall and I LOVED it!

Leave a Reply

