Scout June.

IMG_2415.JPG

I’ve wanted to be a mom my entire life. I’ve had lists upon lists of baby names written for as long as I can remember. Scout has been my favorite since I read Harper Lee’s, “To Kill a Mockingbird” in the ninth grade. I fell in love with Scout Finch’s honest heart, and her stubborn determination. My Scout may not be able to talk yet, but stubborn determination has shown up in full swing!

Being a mom has been such a whirlwind of emotions. In many ways, it has been so much harder than I expected. Nothing can prepare you for the exhaustion that comes and the weariness that tries to take you over. Being a stay at home mom can feel so repetitive at times. Get up, eat, play, nap time, and repeat until bedtime. Throw in a couple tantrums, a couple meltdowns, a walk, books torn, messes made and there is the day! But, the rewards and minutes I spend laughing with and swooning over my little Junebug outnumber the trying times a million to one. I know it sounds cliche, but they really truly absolutely do. No one can make me laugh like she can. No one makes me feel like a million bucks the way Scout does when she is happy to see me. I love watching her take in an episode of Blue’s Clues with absolute wonder. I adore her.

My dream for my girl that is she comes to know love beyond measure. I pray that she reaches out to Jesus and walks with Him all of her days. I pray that she meets a godly man who will cherish her and that they’ll chase down dreams together. I pray that she becomes a strong mother who raises brave kids. I pray that she becomes a friend that a friend would want to have. I pray that she and I always remain close and that she’ll trust me with the “going ons” of her life even when she is grown and doesn’t need me. It makes my heart hurt to type it, but I know all too soon she’ll be grown up. So in the meantime I’ll pray these things over my Scout June and enjoy the moments we get to spend together in our jammies on the cheerio covered floor.

Ali

Leave a Reply

