More Book Reviews!

I absolutely adore books. I love words. I love writing. I love reading. I just love them all!

I just finished two FANTASTIC books. Two convicting books. Two life changing books. Had I known everything that was going to be squashed into the pages of these gems, I probably would not have read them at the same time. Lemme just say, it was a lot to chew. Good chewing..but lots of chewing nonetheless.

Book #1 (not because it’s better, but I finished it first)

Image

“The Forgotten God” by Francis Chan

Holy moly, me oh my, “she may be small, but she is fierce”. That is the best way to describe this book. Being completely honest, going into it I had next to no active relationship with the Holy Spirit. All of my love, time, attention, seeking, etc. went to Jesus and God. That being said, reading this was extremely convicting and eye-opening. From the first page to the last my heart and my head continued to get sucker-punched with new truths, and acknowledgements of the Holy Spirit. I now realize that I have been found guilty of neglecting a very powerful, a very important and very holy person who should be as dear to me as Jesus and the Lord are.

If you already have a personal relationship with the Holy Spirit, I still encourage you to read it. Chan has some amazing insights and just a refreshing way of writing. If you do not, grab the nearest copy and read a chapter a day! You won’t be sorry you did.

“It is easy to use the phrase ‘God’s will for my life’ as an excuse for inaction or even disobedience. My hope is that instead of searching for ‘God’s will for my life,’ each of us would learn to seek hard after ‘the Spirit leading in my life today’. May we learn to pray for an open and willing heart, to surrender to the Spirit’s leading with that friend, child, spouse, circumstance, or decision in our lives right now.” -Francis Chan, The Forgotten God.

“I want to live so that I am truly submitted to the Spirit on a daily basis. Christ said it is better for us  that the Sprit came and I want to live like that is true. I don’t want to keep crawling when I have the ability to fly.” Francis Chan, The Forgotten God.

Book #2

Image

Real Marriage by Mark & Grace Driscoll

Anyone who is married knows that a book on marriage has a 90% chance of being more convicting than any other book subject. And this lil’ bit is no exception. This is hands down the best book on marriage that I’ve read so far. I know I’m only almost 2 years in…but I did a lot of marriage reading pre and post “I do’s”. This is a winner. That being said, I am a fan of people being straight to the point and honest. I appreciate transparency in author’s. It shows humility and a genuine desire to help others learn from their mistakes, and that’s exactly what the Driscoll’s do. They do not shy away from ANY subject. So please, should you choose to read this based on my opinion of the book, remember I warned you! 

The Driscoll’s dive into their pre-marriages pasts, early years of marriage, starting years of their church Mars Hill and the impact it’s had on their marriage. They cover the beginning to present of their relationship and I just found it extremely helpful. As a couple and as individuals, they have some profound wisdom to pass on to any stage of a marriage.

I took a month to read through the book, and it has already made a huge impact in our marriage. I believe marriage is something you should always be willing to learn more about, gain wisdom for, and work towards. Whether you’ve been married 2 weeks, 2 years, 2 decades, etc. next to your relationship with the Lord, it’s the most important relationship you’ll ever have.

So, if you don’t mind brutally honest, grace-filled encouragement, snag this beauty from your nearest bookstore. (Guys, this includes you!)

“In marriage we have a duty to God, our spouses, the world, and future generations. But we are sinners. A husband and wife need to acknowledge that when the Bible speaks of fools, it is not just speaking about other people, but about them as well. Even the wisest among us has moments of folly. So God gives us spouses to serve as wise friends by praying with and for us, attending church with us, speaking truth, and providing Scripture along with good books and online classes, lectures, and sermons to nourish fruitfulness in our lives.” Mark Discoll, Real Marriage

“If my words don’t flow out of a heart that rests in God’s control, sovereignty, then they come out of the heart that seeks control so I can get what I want.” Mark Driscoll, Real Marriage

Ali

Leave a Reply

