Choosing to be a Barbarian

blog9

Anyone who chooses the barbarian way will learn quickly that love and sacrifice cannot be separated. This is perhaps why so many of us who know love fear love. We know that love is not the absence of pain. If anything, love is the promise of pain. No one has loved more deeply than God. Has anyone ever been more betrayed? God would not know suffering if He did not know love. But because He is love, He chose to suffer on our behalf. Without love there is no glory in suffering.

The suffering of Christ glorifies God because it elevates love. Compelled by love, God would go where He knew suffering was certain. Love always moves to sacrifice, which is exactly where He calls us to go. We shouldn’t be surprised, then, that to follow Christ is to abandon the luxury of safety and security. If we are to be like Him, we must always risk for love. We are invited to follow Him with reckless abandon. The call of God is more than a leap of faith; it is a life of faith. Even when it seems beyond our abilities, we should not be surprised when God tells us to jump.”

My grandpa read out of “The Barbarian Way” one sunday who knows how many years ago. All I remember was that I was deeply moved by what he read, and he was obviously moved by it too. I hadn’t thought about that vague memory until I stumbled across the book a couple of months ago.

My grandpa has been my favorite person in the world basically from birth. I’ve yet to meet a person that reminds me so much of Jesus. He’d protest, but it’s true. I’d do anything to be more like my grandpa, and being completely honest that was my main motivation for reading this book when I found it.

Nothing, and I mean NOTHING could have prepared me for what I was going to be reading. Since recommitting my life to Christ a couple of years ago, I have never been so challenged by a book. (In a healthy, insightful, humbling, motivating kind of way)

I don’t want to give away the whole thing, so trust me when I say you should definitely put some time aside and read. The basic message is prompting us to leave a civilized Christianity behind, and follow the Barbarian way; as our warrior Christ Jesus did (as did Paul, John the Baptist, Mary and a million other beloved people from the Bible)

So if you are battling lukewarmness of faith or just want a fresh and motivating read to continue in your passion for the Lord and establishing His kingdom….snag this little gem

Ali

Barbarians hear a call different from that of civilized Christians. We understand clearly that we follow the God who chose the way of the Cross. If Jesus would not avoid the “place of the skull”, then we should not be surprised where He might lead us. If even He found Himself sweating blood at Gethsemane, then we should be certain we will stand at crisis moments where all we can do after asking for relief is declare, “Not my will, but Yours.” In those moments you may find very few who stand by you to provide you comfort and strength, and strangely enough, you may find far too many trying to reason with you that God would never require so much of anyone. Yet even with all the noise pounding inside your head, you will still clearly hear the voice of Christ and His barbarian call if you listen carefully enough.

Leave a Reply

