plans.

“For I know the plans I have for you” says the Lord…

I am a planner. I like to be prepared. Sure, I enjoy being spontaneous with some things, but normally I prefer to plan. Gray areas..being blindsided by things…no thank you. 

I have moved locations every 9-14 months since I graduated high school in 2007. Town to town. State to state. Continent to continent. It’s been a crazy (almost) 6 years! God has poured so many blessings and lessons into each place that I’ve moved. I’m an army brat, so I’ve grown up moving. It’s a huge part of who I am. But today, as I lie on my couch thinking about the last half a dozen years and the ones to come…the thought of moving makes me weary. 

I was watching “The Fellowship of the Ring” with my brother John a couple of nights ago (I will NEVER tire of those films) and there is a line that Biblo says, 

“I feel thin, like butter scraped over too much bread.”

That’s exactly how I’m feeling right now. I’m so grateful for the times and places that the Lord has shared with me since graduating high school. He has made my dreams come true by sending me to Europe twice! Never in my wildest dreams did I think it’d happen again so soon. I know that God has called me to this lifestyle. I know that He has good plans for me, but today, I’m just tired. 

I’m so thankful that we’ll be in Stuttgart until November (16 months total! woo!). Beyond that, only God knows what’s going to happen. I know for most people, it’s an exciting thought. And it usually is for me also…but I’m definitely ready to set up camp somewhere. Even if for only two-three years. Oh man, music to my ears!

Not my will, but Yours be done. I believe and know to the depths of my soul that God knows and does what’s best. So, whether I continue to move every year for the next ten years, or our next move is our final stop, I rest in His plans for me. They bring more joy than anything I could think up myself. Oh, how sweet, to trust in Jesus. 

Ali

 

Leave a Reply

