day 8: matthew cuthbert & smike

day 8: saddest death

I love the Anne of Green Gables series. (the books and the films) I believe that Anne Shirley is solely responsible for my need to express how I feel in a dramatic way. I’m not a drama queen, though…just to clarify 🙂 I try to stay way from those kinds of people.

“Plum puffs will not aid to a mind diseased in a world that’s crumbling to pieces.” -Anne Shirley. Oh my goodness, she’s hilarious. 

Anywho, I’ve seen the movies more times than I can count, but I have watched Matthew pass away exactly 1 time. He reminds me a lot of my grandpa, which may be one reason why it’s too sad for me to watch. I just don’t understand why he had to die in the first place. Boo. 

I would put a clip on here, but I don’t want to expose myself to such sadness or inflict it on you dear readers. But, if your curiosity is getting the better of you, rent the movie!

While Matthew’s death is sad, painful and tragic…at least you have the pleasure of watching an extremely enjoyable movie. It’s full of joy, laughter, happiness and a million other warm things before and after Matthew passes….however, tis not the case for poor Smike of Nicholas Nickelby. 

There are no words to accurately describe my very passionate and intense hatred toward this movie. Ask my mom. I was depressed for ages after seeing it. Actually, depressed is not the right word…I was traumatized and in a state of unconsolable shock. I have not, would not and will not ever recommend this film to anyone. The entire thing is depressing and hopeless. To aid insult to injury, it has one of the most unnecessary death scene’s EVER=Smike. The injustice of it all is just unforgivable!

Hoping for a happier challenge tomorrow,

Ali

Leave a Reply

