good reads.

On my old blog, I’d give a recap of what I’d read that year and I like this little tradition of mine. 

So here are the books I read in 2012. I realized that I didn’t read as many as I usually do. It was a very busy year! And it showed in my lack of book-worming time. Sad day.

Image

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. You best believe I hopped on this band wagon! I got them in January and I read all three in three days. Needless to say that I couldn’t see correctly for about two days afterwards, but MAN it was worth it! Catching Fire is my favorite of the three, but they’re all extremely good. In fact, maybe I’ll start re-reading them today. Team Peeta all the way. Sorry Gale. 

Image

 

I’ll admit it. I’ve been a freud of a Jane Austen fan. I’ve praised her works my whole life via-films. But that just isn’t good enough. I got the Complete Works of Jane Austen and have started making my way through the 2000+ page extravaganza. I didn’t think it was possible, but I enjoyed the book more than the A&E AND Keira Knightly versions. Elizabeth is my heroine. 

Image

 

This has always been my favorite movie, and is officially my favorite Jane Austen book. Marianne and Col. Brandon are my favorite Austen characters. I also grew to absolutely LOVE Elinor in this book. It’s phenominal. Nothing will ever change that. Oh man. JUST AMAZING! I can’t praise this book enough. 

Image

 

I have to begin by saying that Francine Rivers is my favorite fiction author. This woman is TALENTED. If you haven’t read “Redeeming Love” please do! It’s my favorite book in the entire world. But, back to these beauts. Mark of the Lion series. The first two books are life-changing. The third is still very good, but it can’t touch the first two. They take place during the Roman Empire and the destruction of Jerusalem. These books have everything: history, romance, action, suspense, drama, etc. You can’t help but fall in love with the bravery and boldness of Hadassah. Best reads of the year, hands down.

Image

 

Thanks to my mother, grandmother and aunts, I LOVE Mary Higgins Clark. This book is extremely suspenseful and I love a good psychological thriller. Woo wee, this book gave me the heebie-jeebies, but it’s so good. So if you’re into a good crime/thriller/suspense novel, I recommend this! (If you’ve never read any of her books before: Where are the Children, A Cry in the Night, and The Cradle Will Fall are absolute winners)

Image

 

This is the best book on marriage that I’ve read. I read a lot of marriage books pre-engaged, engaged and married. This is my favorite. I love the Eldredge’s. They are raw, honest and challenging with their books. I highly, highly recommend this book to married couples.

Image

 

I had to read this book before going on my mission’s trip to the Czech Republic this summer. I’m a big fan of Timothy Keller and this book is EXCELLENT! It is based around the story of the prodigal son. I don’t want to give too much away, just know that it is a short, easy and powerful book!

Books I started in 2012 and are still working through…

Image

 

I started this book last year, and it’s taking me a while to work my way through it because there is SO much to learn! This is absolutely the best book to be read on prayer. (Reviews, and myself say so) I have never been so motivated and called to drastically change and strengthen my prayer life. E.M. Bounds is the man! He lived during the Civil War era, and his words are just as sound today as they were then. 

Image

 

I didn’t know what to expect when I started this book. I couldn’t have anticipated what is written in it’s pages. I started it at Christmas and then misplaced it. I got it back! yay! So so so so good.  All I have to say is: read it. 

Happy readings!

Ali

 

Leave a Reply

